How to hide your Facebook friends list

As the popularity of Social media like Facebook, twitter growing everyday, privacy issues are getting more importance to it’s user. Connecting with your friends, family or co-workers are important to you. But you might not want to share certain information to your friends or any one who is visiting your profile page.

Your Facebook “friends list” could be something that you don’t want to share with anyone. If that’s the case, go ahead & keep reading.

Take a look at this little piece of video guide that I made for you guys or you can even follow the steps that’s given below.

Step 1: Log in to your Facebook account.
Step 2: Click on “Edit Profile” button that you find on the top right hand corner of the screen.
Edit Profile

Step 3: From the new screen, take a look at the left hand side of the screen. Click on “Friends & Family”.
Friends & Family
Step 4: Finally, look at the drop down menu on right hand side of the gray box. Click on it & select “Only Me”. Hit the “Save Changes” button.
Drop-down Menu

You are basically done. From now on, no on can see your “Friends List” from Facebook. However, in order to check how exactly your friends or visitors can see your profile, go back to the front page of your profile & click on “View As” button. At this point you can select or type any one of your friends name & hit Enter. Check your friends list, whether it’s showing or not.

Timeline Update: As the Facebook Timeline rolls out, I am pretty sure many of you already migrated to Timeline view. In order to hide your Facebook friends list from Timeline view follow these steps.
Step 1: Click on “See All” from the Friends box.
Step 2: Click “Edit” from the new Window & it will pop-up a message box, where it says “Who can see your friend list on your profile”.
Step 3: Look at the right hand side of the Pop-up box, from the drop-down menu select “Only Me” to hide your friends list.

How to Check your Friend’s View on Timeline?

Once you activate your Timeline view, please take a look at the three button that you have right underneath the “Cover Photo”. They are “Update Info, Activity Log & Settings” button. Click on the Settings button & click on “View As” from the drop-down menu. That will show you the Public view of your new Timeline. In order to test, how exactly your friend (specific) can see your profile, write down a name of your friend on the text field where it says “Enter a friend’s name” and hit enter button. Please remember that, Mutual friends will remain visible though.

This is it, you are done. For more security & privacy issues, I would recommend you to check out your Privacy settings as well. Stay connected & stay safe.

You can follow us on Twitter, add on your Google+ circle or Like our Facebook page to get the latest news, updates and reviews.

advertisement